PACES: President's Advisory Council on Environmental Sustainability

The President’s Advisory Council on Environmental Sustainability provides comprehensive guidance and advice to President Hart on high-level issues regarding the University of Arizona’s leadership in environmental sustainability as it pertains to campus design, student engagement, operations, education, research and outreach.

The Council is also responsible for the following:

  • Identifying university-wide sustainability priorities, and establishing short and long-term goals and working groups to accomplish goals.
  • Gathering information and feedback from the university community.

Council Membership


  • Robert Smith, Senior Associate Vice President, Business Affairs
  • Jan Cervelli, Dean, College of Architecture + Planning + Landscape Architecture

Administration Representatives

  • Barbara Bryson, Vice President, Executive Office of the President, Strategic Planning and Analysis
  • Kendal Washington White, Assistant Vice President, Dean of Students, Student Affairs
  • Tannya Renee Gaxiola, Assistant Vice President, Community Relations
  • Ben Champion, Director, UA Office of Sustainability

Academic Unit Representatives

  • Joaquin Ruiz, Vice President, College of Science, Innovation and Strategy
  • Jonathan Overpeck, Co-Director, Institute of the Environment
  • Jim Buizer, Deputy Director, Institute of the Environment, Climate Adaptation and International Development
  • Jeff Goldberg, Dean, College of Engineering

Student Representatives

  • Emily Besich, Graduate Professional Student Council
  • Michael Finnegan, Associated Students of the University of Arizona
  • Val Rountree, UA Green Fund Committee

Employee Representatives

  • Jackie Moxley, Director, Water Sustainability Program
  • Sabrina Helm, Associate Professor, Family & Consumer Sciences
  • Bill Davidson, Public Information and Marketing Manager, UA Parking Transportation Services

Community Representatives

  • John Wesley Miller, Owner, John Wesley Miller Companies
  • Gina Murphy-Darling, Chief Executive Officer, Mrs. Green's World